Dos.

Today we had orientation. I learned that I will be taking one class the first two weeks and my second class the second two weeks. We had a nice tour of the city but it was all in Spanish and people were loud so I didn’t really know what was going on. Here are a few of our stops:

La Puerta de Sol:

Plaza Mayor:

We are apparently really close to the big shopping area which is great for people watching. Our apartment is very centrally located with the botanical Gardens, Puerta de Sol, Prado Museum, and train station all near by. After our little tour my roommate (who is also named Sarah) and I walked around. We went to the huge department store: El Corte Ingles which is like a mix of Macy’s, JC Pennys, Publix, Dick’s Sporting goods, Target, and a souvenir shop.

Dresses in Corte Ingles.

We stopped and got some Italian Helado (Gelato) and I finally go to exchange some dollars for euros. We took the metro home which wasn’t as bad as we expected. After a little break we decided to go to the Botanical Gardens which were absolutely beautiful!

Giant Flower!

The Green House ceiling 

Hydrangeas! 

Then we went down to the train station. It looked like a rain forest inside:

And there were tons and tons of turtles:

So that was my day. I hope to keep up with posting but when I have school work I’m not sure how well that will work out. I leave you with a picture of my cute little area on my first morning:

Leave a Reply

